Day 4 - Observations - Reisverslag uit Penzance, Verenigd Koninkrijk van dannydirven - WaarBenJij.nu Day 4 - Observations - Reisverslag uit Penzance, Verenigd Koninkrijk van dannydirven - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 4 - Observations

Door: Danny Dirven

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

26 April 2016 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Penzance

This morning I had to wake up at about 8 AM. Like everyday, I chose some toast with margarine, two croissants and some apple and orange juice. At 8:45, Bill, one of the taxi drivers of the Airport, picked me up with his bus and gave me a lift to Land's End Airport.

Today I had to have a look at the tasks of the Observations section. They tried to explain all the kinds of forms they have to fill in everyday and what their tasks are. I did not realise that such a large part of the work at an airport is administrative work. They have to put all the different information they have into different schemes. They have to keep track of the time when an airplane landed, when a pilot should be working, when he or she can not work because he or she is working too long, what the weather is like, how many women, men and infants there are on a flight etc... There was a women who broke her leg and needed to get specific healthcare, which was not available on the Isles of Scilly. They therefore had to remove all the seats from the airplane and insert a stretcher to transport her to the mainland. I was allowed to take a look at how this was done by the crew of the Airport, which was interesting. Besides that, I did not get to do a lot at the Airport this morning, which I fully understood. Working at the Observations section is really hard and chaotic. It is also hard to understand what is going on, what everyone is exactly doing.

At 11:45 I was allowed to get some lunch. I chose a sausage roll and Orangina, just like yesterday. Lori was also sitting in the waiting room to have her lunch. She told me a bit more about Cornwall and about a woman in the town where she lives, who is officially considered as a witch (a white witch though, so not a bad one). It was very interesting to speak with her.

At about half past 12 in the afternoon, I went back to the Observations room. After an hour of not really doing anything, they came up with something I could do: I had to check the passenger lists of the flights of today and tomorrow. I then had to look if anything changed, if there were passengers who returned the same day and if there were special requirements, like if someone wanted to take their dog with him or her. After that, I had to fill in a scheme with the information we collected, which I just summed up. It was nice to get to do some things myself.

Stuart also arranged that I can go to the Isles of Scilly this Saturday for a full day, when the Gig Championship is happening. I am really really looking forward to this day.

At half past four, they gave me a lift back to Keigwin House. I just rested a bit after I came back to the B&B. At half past six, Fran sent me a message that I could come to have dinner. We had baked potatoes, homemade hamburgers, some beans and a sort of white carrot, which I sadly do not remember the name of anymore. I really enjoyed the meal.

After dinner, Fran and Stuart told me some stories of their holidays, which were interesting. After that, Stuart and I watched the Champions League football game of Manchester City against Real Madrid. We also told each other a little bit about English football and Dutch football. The match itself was quite boring, 0-0, but I enjoyed talking about football with Stuart.

At ten o'clock in the evening, I went upstairs to my room to write this blog. After that I will go to sleep. Tomorrow I have to wake up at about 8 AM. I am not sure yet what I am going to do tomorrow, but it will sure be fun. See you tomorrow!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 22 April 2016
Verslag gelezen: 177
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4786

Voorgaande reizen:

23 April 2016 - 07 Mei 2016

International Internship 2016

Landen bezocht: