Day 12 - Stores & Engineering - Reisverslag uit Penzance, Verenigd Koninkrijk van dannydirven - WaarBenJij.nu Day 12 - Stores & Engineering - Reisverslag uit Penzance, Verenigd Koninkrijk van dannydirven - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 12 - Stores & Engineering

Door: Danny Dirven

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

04 Mei 2016 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Penzance

Today I woke up at 8 AM again. I chose the croissants again, with some toast and margarine and some orange juice. Bill, one of the taxi drivers, was a bit early, so I had to hurry up in the end.

Stuart told me yesterday that I had to go Debbs in the morning, as she arranged something for me. So when I arrived at the Airport this morning, I immediately went to the office of Chris, Debbs and Christine. Debbs said that I could go to the Stores section and after that to the Engineering section.

Debbs took me to the Stores section. The Stores section is the place where all the materials are stored. Each time they receive a new material or if they repaired a certain material, they have to put it into the computer and print it. The materials also get a different batch number, whenever it gets repaired.

After going to the Stores section, they sent me to the Engineering section, where they repair different parts of the airplanes. First, they let me remove a battery from an airplane and then replace it with another battery. I had to carry out more steps than I thought to remove a battery, but it was quite easy to do.

Then they let me remove the sort caps of another battery. I had to clean those caps before they can put them back on again in a while. They had to check if the battery was capable of recharging itself to a certain level. Therefore, they had to drain the battery completely. They did this with a certain machine. This took around an hour, so they let me have my lunch. I had lunch from about 12 o'clock until 1 o'clock. I chose a Cornish pasty today, which you have to try once when you are in Cornwall, I have been told. When I came back, I had to put some resistors (=weerstanden) onto the battery to drain the last tiny bit of energy out of the battery.

Later on, I went to the balcony of the control tower for just a couple of minutes to take some nice pictures of the Airport. The weather was nice again today, so I grabbed my chance to take some nice pictures.

After that, they let me clean the rim (=velg) of a tyre. I had to put the rim into a sort of closed box with a window and then use a sort of 'soap gun' to clean the tyre. Later on I had to use a compressor to blow the liquid away. After that I had to repeat the same steps with other parts of the tyre, except for the rubber. Some of the engineers were in the navy in the Netherlands for a while, so they told me some stories about their experiences and about Amsterdam (of course..). It was good fun.

Then, they let me stand quite close to an airplane when its motors were starting. I had to stick together with Andrew, for my own safety and I had to go to the hangar when he gave me a sign. I have never been so close to a starting airplane, so that was fun.

After that, I could sit in the airplane when Andrew drove the airplane into the hangar. Later on, they showed me how they do the inspection they do at the end of every day. They just look at every part of the airplane to see if it is broken or not and they also clean the (windows of) airplanes. It was quite fascinating to see.

At 16:40, Mark brought me back to the B&B. I already made a start of my blog, as I did not have a lot of time to do it this evening. At 18:30, we had dinner. We had some pasta, which was really good.

After dinner, I did not really do anything, but at 20:15, Fraser picked me up to go to the football field. We were not with a lot, but we could still play 5 against 6. I was in the team with the 3 guys of about my age and another guy and we played against the older ones ;). We were about 5-0 in front, but we still lost, as they had one man more.. It was still good fun and everyone was really nice to me, luckily.

At 21:50, I came back to the B&B and I called my mom for a bit. Now I still have to finish this blog and I still have to take a shower. After that, I will go to bed. Tomorrow I have to wake up at 8 AM again. See you tomorrow!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 22 April 2016
Verslag gelezen: 174
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4793

Voorgaande reizen:

23 April 2016 - 07 Mei 2016

International Internship 2016

Landen bezocht: