Day 3 - The first actual day of my internship - Reisverslag uit Penzance, Verenigd Koninkrijk van dannydirven - WaarBenJij.nu Day 3 - The first actual day of my internship - Reisverslag uit Penzance, Verenigd Koninkrijk van dannydirven - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 3 - The first actual day of my internship

Door: Danny Dirven

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

25 April 2016 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Penzance

This morning I woke up at about 8 AM. Just like yesterday, I chose some toast with margarine, some orange juice and two croissants. After having breakfast, I prepared myself to go to Land's End Airport for the first actual day of my internship. Chris, the Airport Manager, picked me up at around 8:55 AM at the B&B. Chris first explained me the rules, where the toilets were, where the emergency exits were etc. After that, Chris introduced me to the staff of the Airport, while he was giving me a quick tour around the Airport. Everyone was very friendly and willing to look after me during my internship, which was nice.

In the end, Chris showed me the control tower, from where the weather is observed and from where the pilots receive their instructions. Lori, who was working at the control tower at that moment, explained me how the system works. Instead of using large electronic screens, they use a system with strips, because it is quite a small airport. Lori explained a lot about the 'language' and equipment used by the pilots and control tower coordinators, which was really interesting. She also told some stories about Cornwall and about the Islands of Scilly, which I hope to visit this Saturday.

This Saturday is a very special day for the Islands of Scilly, as the World Pilot Gig Championship 2016 is going to happen. It is an international event, where a lot of people come to the Islands to watch the championship or to participate. There are around 10 Dutch groups who also participate in the Championship. Gig racing is a sport in which you have to row the fastest with a gig, a small wooden boat. It will be very busy at the Airport this week, as a lot of people need to be transported to the Islands of Scilly to watch the Championship or participate.

At around half past one, I could get my lunch. I ordered some Orangina and a sausage roll at the cafe, which was really tasty. I got 20 percent off, because they considered me as a part of the staff.

After lunch, I went back to the control tower to learn a bit more about the 'language' and equipment that they use. After Lori was finished working, Ian took over. We talked a bit about our favorite sports, where I live and what I should really visit in Cornwall, which was good fun.

At half past four, I was brought back to Keigwin House by a bus driver from the Airport, who happened to be the son-in-law of Fran and Stuart. I rested a little bit and had dinner with Fran and Stuart at about half past 6. We ate fish pie, which was really nice. After having dinner, I showed Fran and Stuart where I live. Afterwards, Stuart taught me a lot about the history of Penzance, the Islands of Scilly and the Gig Championships, which was interesting.

At around 8 o'clock, I went back to my room and watched some television. Then I started to write this blog. Tomorrow I will be visiting the Observations section at the Airport, which I am looking forward to. I have to wake up at about 8 AM. See you tomorrow!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 22 April 2016
Verslag gelezen: 183
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4802

Voorgaande reizen:

23 April 2016 - 07 Mei 2016

International Internship 2016

Landen bezocht: