Day 8 - Isles of Scilly - Reisverslag uit Saint Mary's, Verenigd Koninkrijk van dannydirven - WaarBenJij.nu Day 8 - Isles of Scilly - Reisverslag uit Saint Mary's, Verenigd Koninkrijk van dannydirven - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 8 - Isles of Scilly

Door: Danny Dirven

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

30 April 2016 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Saint Mary's

This morning I woke up at 7:15. I had lunch at about 7:30 and chose the same breakfast as the other days. At 8 o'clock, a taxi driver picked me up and brought me to Land's End Airport.

I checked my bags in and waited in the lobby until someone called us. We had to watch a video with safety instructions before we could leave the building and enter the airplane. After watching the video, we went into the airplane. We were flying in one of the islanders, Bravo Papa, which is one of the smaller planes. In total there were 6 passengers and 1 pilot. It was a really small plane, so it was a little exciting. You could really feel every movement the plane made and you were almost sitting next to the pilot. The view was fantastic and after 15 minutes we landed at the Airport on St. Mary's.

I spent my day walking along the coastline around the whole island. I noticed that there were a lot of cliffs with lots of stones. There were also quite some monuments and entrance graves dating back from the Bronze Age. The water was very clear and the sand was really white. It almost looked like I was the only one on the island, as I did not see a lot of people.

At about 12:40, I had lunch in a restaurant called Juliet's Garden with a fantastic view over Town Beach in Hugh Town. We could also see the Gig Racers, which was nice. I chose a lemon posset (a sort of lemon pudding), some chips and some coke. It was very nice.

After lunch, I just watched the Gig Racing World Championship a bit and had a look at the shops in Hugh Town. Then I went to Little Porth beach in Hugh Town and I just sat down for a moment to have a look at the beach and sea. Later on, I finished walking around the whole island and went back to the Airport.

We took off a little bit earlier than expected, 17:40 instead of 18:00. When we took off, we could still see the Gig Racing going on and again, the view was fantastic. Unfortunately, I could not make a picture, because my phone battery died... When we arrived at Land's End Airport, one of the passengers gave the other passengers and me (3 in total) a lift to Penzance, as he also needed to go there. It was really kind of him.

When I came back I noticed that I had a sunburn on my face, neck and hands... It was quite warm and the son shone all day, but I forgot to put some sunscreen on, as I thought it would not be necessary. Luckily, Fran gave me some aftersun.

At 19:15, we had dinner. We ate sausage pie and baked beans, which was really nice. After dinner we watched some television and at 9 o'clock I went back to my room. Right now I am writing this blog and after that I will go to sleep.

Tomorrow I have a day off again, so I will wake up at around 8:45. See you tomorrow!

(More photos on Facebook)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 22 April 2016
Verslag gelezen: 154
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4804

Voorgaande reizen:

23 April 2016 - 07 Mei 2016

International Internship 2016

Landen bezocht: